A different way to discover Bologna area, at a slow pace, exploring its many natural and artistic beauties!

The Colli Bolognesi are located in the foothills of Bologna’s  South West province, on the border with the province of Modena, and include the localities of: Casalecchio di Reno, Monte San Pietro, Valsamoggia and Zola Predosa.

The Colli Bolognesi territory has a lot to offer and to discover: nature, gastronomy, art and history.


The park is located on the first hill slopes south of the city, just outside Porta San Mamolo. It has a surface of approx. 28 hectares. Open in 1975 the park is a perfect example ot the typical hill landscape. Since 2004 Fondazione Villa Ghigi has been running the park proposing special educational guided tours about season cicles and vegetation. Park entrances are in via San Mamolo, Via Martucci and Via Gaibola where there is a large parking area.




As a traditional religious object of cult linked to the devotion of the image of the Blessed Virgin of St. Luca as well as comforting visual landmark for the Bolognese returning home, the sanctuary located on the Colle della Guardia is one of the symbols of the city itself. The over 600 arches of the portico, unique in the world for its length of almost four kilometers (3,796 m), connect the sanctuary to the city and provide shelter for the yearly procession that since 1433 leads the Byzantine Madonna and Child to the cathedral in the city centre during the Ascension week. Its construction began in 1674 with the building of the Bonaccorsi archway by G. G. Monti over Porta Saragozza.




The Park is located in the farthest end of the city area, on the borderline of the town of Sasso Marconi. It stretches to both sides of the ridge between the Reno and Savena rivers, across the route of Sabbiuno (on the tracks of an ancient road that leads to Tuscany). The area on the Savena riverbank  is covered by meadows, occasional wild rose, hawthorn, rows of maples, elms, flowering ashes and a most recent forest area . From the top of the cliffs you can enjoy panoramic views of the park, as from the thin peaks ,  the isolated pinnacle of the Pliocene sandstones under the Sammoré Mountain. The side on the Reno river, wild and not accessible, is abundant in scenic gullies, with edges spotted by brooms. On the border it was built the outstanding war memorial to the 100 partisans killed by the Nazi-Fascist on this spot in December 1944. It was realized by a group of Architects of ‘Città Nuova’ (1972-73). The farmhouses in the nearby hamlet of Cà Croce host a small exhibition on the slaughter. From the edges of gullies beautiful views overlooking  the Reno river and the Sabbiuno Mountain, with the old hamlet of Sabbiuno di Montagna.